Basil Grilled Shrimp Recipe

For Christmas my husband got me one of the best gifts I have ever gotten: a two-sided stove top grill and griddle. Seriously, I always wanted one after watching Giada grill salmon or bread but probably would have never purchased it. It is fantastic. It does everything!

I made lemon pancakes – my specialty!

I grilled chicken.

Then one day I opened the drawer and saw wooden skewers and thought – grilled shrimp!? So we tried it.

I mixed up some basil (I cheat here and use the tubed kind, simply because it stays longer), lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper, and garlic to season the shrimp. Soak the skewer before you put it on the shrimp if you think it is at all possible that there might be an open flame (like if you cook these babies outside!) and then push the shrimp on carefully. We use frozen raw shrimp because our grocery store only carries “fresh” shrimp cooked. Oh, and Alton Brown told us as long as they are thawed properly they are just about equal to fresh – love Good Eats!

I brushed the shrimp with the seasoning mixture on both sides and the popped them on the grill.

They need about 2-3 minutes per side, but cook them until they start to get pink. Careful here, too long on the grill and you will eat rubbery shrimpies!

We paired our grilled shrimp with boiled and salted red potatoes and veggies – the balance of the basic red potato and the bright, citrusy shrimp is fan-tastic but you could pair with just about anything. Even tossed on a salad would be great!

4 responses to “Basil Grilled Shrimp Recipe

  1. That looks so cool! I’d love one of those grills. Popped in from SITS!

  2. Those look fantastic! Can I come over for dinner?

  3. Pingback: Basil Grilled Shrimp Recipe « evieparker

Leave a Reply

