Appetizer Time!

Phew, it has been a mad rush of holiday events, but I am back! Christmas was fantastic, as usual, and it was a shock this week being back in the real world (and not filling myself up with fudge).

One of my favorite things about holiday parties is being able to bring appetizers to share with friends and family. I love making new things and I especially love seeing people enjoy the foods I made (and laughing on the inside as people enjoy the gluten free items unknowingly – gluten free can be amazing too!). Here is my newest adventure in the appetizer world: Goat Cheese, Cranberry, and Walnut Canapes; perfect for your next party or even a fancy night in!

Goat Cheese, Cranberry, and Walnut Canapes

I am in lust with Whole Living magazine. Phenom. Awesome ideas, inspirational stories, and delicious foods! This recipe is from Whole Living online.

Ingredients

8 oz goat cheese
3/4 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
24 slices of a baguette
fresh thyme
salt and pepper
olive oil

Directions

Go crazy and chop up some walnuts. You want them to be big enough to use as toppers, but small enough to fit in one bite. Toss them with the cinnamon, some salt and pepper, and olive oil until coated. Layer on to a baking sheet and toast for about 8 minutes at 350° to 375°. I used 375° for about 5 minutes, but I think that lower and slower might be better!

Slice your baguette thin and layer on the same baking sheet once the walnuts are out of the oven. Wipe generously with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Pop these in the oven for about 12 minutes – careful not to burn! Crunchy is good but just a few minutes too long could be disastrous. (See below, I was close to disaster!)

While the baguette is toasting up, mix the cranberries, chopped thyme, goat cheese and a few tablespoons of water in a large bowl until smooth. This recipe called for 1 teaspoon of thyme but I did not think it was enough; use your judgement!

Once the bread is cool spread the goat cheese mixture on each slice and then top with walnuts and thyme. Refrigerate if making ahead or serve immediately. Be sure to taste one (just one!).

Update: For those of you who are gluten free, I used Schar Baguettes and they worked perfectly!

3 responses to “Appetizer Time!

  1. this sounds good, I bet the sweetness of the dried cranberries combines well with the goat cheese. Thanks for posting! I’ll keep an eye on your blog!

  2. Absolutely, the sweet is so so good with the savory! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. These look absolutely delicious! I hope you had a good holiday too!

Leave a Reply

