Thankful Thursday

It is so easy to get caught up in the whirl wind of the holidays and forget to take a minute and look around. I am working on remembering to live in the present – sounds silly, right? Think about it, how many times have you built up an experience, hoping it will be great, only to realize you were too focused on the outcome and missed the experience itself?

Maybe you don’t do this – congrats! I however need to work on this. Instead of always looking to the future and “what’s next?” I need to live. Right here. Right now.

So this Thursday I am taking a minute to remember the things I am thankful for and stop for a second to reflect on life, take a breath, soak it up, and smile because it is a good life.

I am so grateful for my family, husband, friends and the blessings we have been giving this holiday season. I am able to spend time with everyone this year and have even finished all my shopping already! I love the warm feeling in our house as the Christmas lights twinkle and the cats play with the bows on the gifts under the tree.

I am amazed at where I am right now in my life. Had you asked me where I would be even six months ago, I wouldn’t have guessed here. I have been able to travel and gain amazing friends this year and I have never loved a job like the one I have now. The experiences I have had this year are enough to be thankful for in a lifetime and it is important to stop and focus on those instead of the not-so-great things.

I am so lucky. I have the best husband and fur babies anyone could ask for. We are not ready for kids just yet, but this little girl makes me smile everyday. I need to remember to soak up every minute that I have to spend with my husband and our babies curled up on the couch, taking a walk, or raking leaves – the future doesn’t matter as much as enjoying these moments as much as I can.

Stop and take a moment to recall what you are thankful for today and remember to take in every moment as it comes. What takes your breath away?
Thankful Thursdays Button

Linking up with black tag diaries for Thankful Thursday.

3 responses to “Thankful Thursday

  1. SOOO glad you linked up today!! i can totally relate to what you said about living in the present. i so often find myself thinking about what i want to happen in the future or even reminiscing over the past… while the present is just waiting to be enjoyed and lived. great reminder. thanks for sharing!

  2. Thank you for posting this! It is hard to remember, especially at Christmas to be thankful and remember everything. Thanks for visiting my site today!

Leave a Reply

