Best Stuffing Recipe – Ever

There is a strict rule in my house regarding food: when I host an event I refuse to serve any foods with gluten in them. Really I just don’t see the point. I cook because I enjoy it and I make foods with passion and love (cheesy yes, but true), so when I serve food to my guests I want to enjoy it with them and I want to have loved every minute during the preparation. I swear you can taste when someone put all the energy they had in to a meal.

The same rules apply at Fakesgiving (or real Thanksgiving!); I only make gluten free foods. Don’t fret, every bite is delicious and no one would know the difference if they did not know my diet already. Here is my recipe for the best stuffing ever. I made this gluten free and everyone loved it, but you can obviously just make this with regular bread.

Cranberry Apple and Sausage Stuffing

First, cut the bread in cubes and toast them in the oven. I used a mixture of white bread and whole grain bread, in total you need 5 and 1/4 cups of cubes. Spread them on a cookie sheet and toast at 350° F. Dump the cubes in a large bowl once toasted.

Saute one pound of sausage (I suggest a mild Italian) and one cube of chopped onions until browned. Add chopped celery and fresh herbs and saute a little longer. I used a little less than a cup of celery, but you can use the amount you prefer. You can also substitute dried herbs for fresh ones, but I recommended getting fresh.

The dish tastes so much more alive and I truly believe it is worth the cost. I used sage, rosemary, and thyme – the trick with the thyme and the rosemary is to hold the end of the twig-like stem and pull your fingers down the stem; the leaves with come right off. If it does not seem to be working for you, you are probably holding the wrong end and pulling the wrong way.

Pour the sausage mixture over the bread crumbs and mix in one chopped (and cored) apple, 3/4 cup of dried cranberries, 1/3 cup fresh parsley, 3/4 cup of stock (I used gluten free chicken stock), and 4 tablespoons melted butter.

We stuff our bird lightly but also baked the rest of the stuffing – yum, yum, yum!!! If you bake it just put it in the oven an hour before the turkey is supposed to be finished.  I will tell you the men truly love this stuffing, as my husband says, “the more meat the better!”Add this recipe to your Thanksgiving menu for sure – it will soon become the family favorite – I promise.

Pin It

Leave a Reply

