Homemade Egg Rolls: Success!

We were invited to a Japanese-inspired dinner party this weekend and told to bring whatever we wanted to share with the group. I thought long and hard, trying to come up with something that was gluten free, tasty, and (of course!) went along with the theme. At first I decided to bring a dessert, but I could not find anything that really spoke to my tummy. Then I saw it: egg rolls. I am not sure if it is Japanese, but its definitely Asian enough to slide by.

In order to make my egg rolls gluten free I would have to make my own wrapper as every packaged wonton-ish wrap contains gluten (that I could find).

Bummer.Challenge accepted.

I found this recipe for wontons created by Nicole, author of Gluten Free On A Shoestring, and decided I would give it a try. I grabbed some ideas from other recipes for egg rolls and came up with (thankfully) a winning combination!

All you need for the wontons is 1 cup of gluten free flour, half a teaspoon of xanthan gum, an egg and an egg white beaten together, and 2 tablespoons of warm water. I tossed everything in my stand mixer and it came together nicely. It will be somewhat sturdy but smooth – not crumbly! If it seems crumbly add more warm water.

I rolled everything out in between plastic wrap but could not manage to get a decent shape going. Every edge was jagged, but hey, it adds character!

For the mixture I used 3 cups of shredded cabbage and carrots, onion, celery, 1 tablespoon of soy sauce, garlic salt, cooked  shrimp, and black pepper. I cheated here and bought a bag of shredded cabbage with carrots in it, like what you would use for coleslaw.

Cut them in to whatever shape you want to use and fill ’em up! Tuck the ends in and roll tightly, taking care not to rip them. I did this many times, just use some extra pieces and patch them up, no biggie.

Here is one rolled and ready for the oven (or fryer). It happens to be a pretty one, just for you.

I baked the rolls after brushing them with butter or oil for about 30 minutes at 400 degrees. I don’t own anything to fry in and I attempted to fry the second batch in a regular pan with no thermometer and all hell broke loose (see the one right by the prongs of the fork? he was fried). My kitchen and I decided they would all now be baked, splattered oil is no fun to clean up.

Here is the yummy inside, sorry the picture is blurry, I was busy eating!

Here are some of them in action, amongst the other goodies. They didn’t last long, so I assume everyone enjoyed them as much as I did! Give them a try and let me know what you think! Do you put anything more interesting in your egg rolls?

2 responses to “Homemade Egg Rolls: Success!

  1. Looks wonderful!! You are so talented!

Leave a Reply

