Fakesgiving Prep

Every year we host a Fakesgiving dinner with our closest friends. Basically a Thanksgiving celebration, just not on Thanksgiving day! We usually do it pot luck style, where I make the main dishes and everyone brings something to share. This makes it super easy and stress free for me and, if most people are like me, everyone brings a dish they like – so I know there is something for everyone!

This year I have decided to do a few special things for the big dinner and I only have a week and a half to prepare (plenty of time right!?).  I love to cook and decorate so its not so much work as it is fun for me.

Here is what I have planned so far:

This year I want to make favors for everyone to take home with them; just a simple way to show our friends that we are thankful for their presence in our lives. I plan to make a few options so that everyone can have a choice (or take a few!). Here are some ideas:

.

How cute would it be to put these almonds in mason jars with a burlap cover over the lid, tied on with a fall colored ribbon and a tag?!?

In addition to the turkey and mashers that we always supply for the feast I am also going to make homemade bread, gravy, and stuffing. I eat gluten free so I plan to make these all gluten free (shhh, don’t tell anyone). Hmmmm cornbread muffins or a loaf of something like this cranberry bread??

Source: realsimple.com via Leah on Pinterest

.

I also want to make our small house feel warm and welcoming with some DIY cheap fall decor. I want to make over the mantel and do simple centerpieces, all with a natural feel. Last year I filled vases with acorns and put candles in them; they looked AWESOME. Bad news? Apparently acorns have little maggots in them and those nasty creatures become flies. DIY decor gone wrong. So I intend to decorate carefully this year, similar to this:

.

I also have to bust out some basic home projects to get the house in tip-top shape for guests which means it is going to be a VERY busy week and a half! Stay tuned for pictures from Fakesgiving, hoping it will be great!

One response to “Fakesgiving Prep

  1. Pingback: Nuts About You! | leahmariev

Leave a Reply

