Raising the bar

Yep, that’s right, we’ve started a big project. We’re raising the bar! We have begun demolition on what we lovingly refer to as the breakfast bar. And, oh my, I remembered to take pictures! Here is what she looked like before:

Not pretty. The dark grout always makes me feel like it is dirty and I have no idea what that little flower on the tile is all about.

Here is the mid-demo shot:

Already coming along! Okay, not really, but at least progress has been made.

As for what we are doing after the demo is done I am not really sure. Here is a picture of the tile I was thinking of laying back down on the bar itself (with our current counter in the background to see how it looked).

And two possibilities for the backsplash around the entire kitchen and on the wall portion of the breakfast bar.

We also are considering something like this, which I found here:

I have an obsession with beadboard, plus it seems easier and cheaper. Two of my favorite qualities.

We also considered leaving the wall portion solid and just painting, but given this view of the plaster the tile left behind, I am not sure how that will go.

What is your vote?? Too many options for me to choose!

One response to “Raising the bar

  1. Pingback: The Bar is Raised | leahmariev

Leave a Reply

